Recursion

Mom: So do you like him?

Me: Who?

Mom; You know, the boy, the one who’s parents e-mailed pictures and horoscope

Me: Okay

Mom: He looks good

Me: Yes he does

Mom: Is that a “Yes” yes?

Me: What do you mean a “Yes” yes?

Mom: I mean, can I say okay to his parents?

Me: Okay to what?

Mom: To marriage

Me: Who is getting married to him?

Mom: You are

Me: I barely remember his face

Mom: Well, you will have lots of time after you get married to remember his face

Me: Ha ha, you are funny

Mom: I was not joking. Okay I give time till tomorrow, decide and tell me.

Me: Isn’t a day too long a duration for me to decide whether I want to spend the rest of my life with a stranger whose face I can barely remember?

Mom: Don’t act smart

Day 2:

Mom: So what have you decided. You like him?

Me: Well I tried making conversation to his picture, but he is too tongue tied I guess

Mom: Don’t act smart. You like him?

Me: No

Mom: What do you mean “No”? This is the fifth guy I have seen for you. Do you realize the amount of pressure I am under?

Me: Oh, you are under pressure eh?

Mom: Don’t act smart. It is just the fact that you earn so much that is making you arrogant

Me: Eh, I don’t earn that much

Mom: Well atleast you are earning, what if you didn’t have a job? You would have said yes to the first guy we saw

Me: What are you talking about?

Mom: Well, I think your arrogance also comes from the fact that you are more educated than me

Me: Eh, no. You and I have the same undergraduate degrees

Mom: Whatever, don’t talk back

Me: I wasn’t

Mom: There you go, after all that I have done for you, I was more like a friend to you than a mother

Me: Yes Mom, that’s why I love you so much

Mom: If you love me so much, why are you not agreeing to marriage?

Me: What does that got to do with anything?

Mom: Don’t act smart…

….. multiply that by 2, again multiply by 7 and then 4 and then 12. Add about 112 for the weekends that I am at home. That is the number of times that we have the same conversation every year.

7 thoughts on “Recursion

  1. Damned if you speak and damned if you don’t…unenviable situation!

    I like the way these exchanges invariably end up in stalemates and then goes around in cirlces. Again..as you say. 🙂

    • Gah, Oh boy. Here it comes. Brace yourself…
      There was no hibernation.
      I realized that when it comes to taking breaks or announcing retirement, I am the Brett Favre of Bloggers.
      Nuff Said. I am blushing purple.

      • As long as you don’t turn into a Sachin Tendulkar or a Michael Schumacher, all’s well.

        Hope the urge of the virtual pen overpowers other useful forces, prominently among them, the urge to idleness.

Leave a Reply

