An elegy to a new beginning


You said you’d fulfill me

And follow me forever

You said I was important

And that you’d forget me never

 

I was reborn

When we first met

But soon the romance fizzled

And you began to neglect

 

I should have known better

That things between us never will be

For you’ve cheated me again

And left me with only  memories

 

You bragged about me to your friends

And promised that you’d never desert me

A whole year has gone by

And I have been reduced to a mute tree

 

Now you’ve come back

Begging me to accept you

I know you will lapse this time too

But nevertheless I agree

 

For a new year is a new start

And the old habits may depart

Trusting your lies I begin

A journey I know that will never end!

By

Your 2010 New Year Resolution

2 thoughts on “An elegy to a new beginning

Leave a Reply

